Andreu Lacondeguy and Casey Brown Crowned Whip-Off Champions


The top 20 riders in the finals, down from 120, absolutely threw down on Crabapple Hits early Thursday afternoon. Casey BROWN (CAN) and Andreu LACONDEGUY (ESP) were named the 2015 Official Whip-Off World Champions, making Brown the owner of the women’s division.


Judge Duncan Riffle said competitors are judged on how far they whip it, how in control they can keep it, how big they go, and their overall fluidity.

“We had the biggest showing of talent we’ve ever seen. It was so difficult to narrow it down to the top five,” said Riffle. “Overall, the whip is about aesthetics. It all comes down to how cool it looks. Whips feel amazing to execute and they look even cooler. It’s poetry in the air. I love the whip.”

19941835723_f26bd78b63_k 20562713955_02eaf57929_k 20374706828_c39a5ca5cf_k 19941833183_ac5c8ff050_k 19940098584_53a67f46cd_k 20376003279_1b80f7d5ee_k 20374698290_f76abefd2a_k 20562716835_da6ece38b2_k

First-time champion, Lacondeguy, was giving it everything he had.

“I’m stoked! I’ve never won a whip-off before and I was just whipping it as hard as I could,” says Lacondeguy. “I saved it all for the end and whipped my biggest whip on my final run.”

Red Bull Joyride trail builder, Dustin GILDING (CAN), sent the crowd into a frenzy by whip-bonking a “my mom whips better than you” sign twice, and received an honourable mention.

Brown showed up to defend her title as World Champion, after winning in Crankworx Rotorua, by beating out some tough competition. The commentators remarked that Brown whipped so hard she was almost indistinguishable from the guys out on the course.


Official Whip-Off World Championships Presented by Spank

Women’s Results:

1. Casey BROWN (CAN)

2. Lorraine BLANCHER (CAN)



Men’s Results:


2. Bernardo CRUZ (BRA)

3. Ryan HOWARD (USA)


It appears you're using an old version of Internet Explorer which is no longer supported, for safer and optimum browsing experience please upgrade your browser.