08 Aug 2013

Cycling Australia & MTBA are pleased to confirm the riders selected to represent Australia at the 2013 UCI Mountain Bike and Trials World Championships being staged in Pietermaritzburg, Republic of South Africa, August 26 to September 1, 2013.

London Olympians Daniel McConnell and Rebecca Henderson headline the cross country selections, with the pair tasting success throughout the 2013 UCI World Cup Series.  In May, McConnell became the first Australian male since Cadel Evans in 2000 to claim a World Cup victory, while Henderson has secured one win and three second place finishes in 2013 and currently sits second on the individual standings.

McConnell and Henderson will also be leading the charge in the cross country team relay that kicks off the competition at this year’s championships. The U23 and U19 XCO representatives for this event will be named just prior to the start.

In downhill selections, former world champions Sam Hill and Troy Brosnan and 2013 national champion Mick Hannah will line up, with recently crowned BMX world champion Caroline Buchanan and reigning national champion Tracey Hannah to feature in the women’s event.

Buchanan, the 2009 and 2010 4X world champion, has also been selected to contest the 4X World Championships which will be held in Austria in September. She is joined by Joey Vejvoda who has enjoyed a number of top 10 finishes in the 2013 4X Pro Tour Series.

In the Observed Trials, Janine Jungfels’ recent World Cup silver medal has her in contention for a strong performance, while 2012 national champion Nathan Mummery will be looking to improve on his 15th place at last year’s worlds.

Elite Men Cross Country XCO

  • Daniel MCCONNELL (Bruthen, VIC) 2012 London Olympian, 2013 Elite Men XCO Oceania Champion, Winner – 2013 MTB World Cup XC #1
  • Paul VAN DER PLOEG (Towonga, VIC)

U23 Men Cross Country XCO

  • Michael CROSBIE (East Malvern, VIC)
  • Ben FORBES (Pinjarra Hills, QLD)

U23 Women Cross Country XCO

  • Rebecca HENDERSON (Monash, ACT) 2012 London Olympian, 2013 U23 Women XCO National Champion, 2013 U23 Women XCO Oceania Champion

Elite Men Downhill DHI

  • Bryn ATKINSON (Wentworth Falls, NSW)
  • Troy BROSNAN (Seacombe Heights, SA) 2010 & 2011 UCI Junior DHI World Champion
  • Mitchell DELFS (Gracetown, WA)
  • Conor FEARON (Kingswood, SA)
  • Jared GRAVES (Toowoomba, QLD)
  • Michael HANNAH (Yorkeys Knob, QLD) 2013 Elite Men DHI National Champion
  • Sam HILL (Gidgegannup, WA) 2006, 2007, 2010 Elite Men DHI World Champion, 2013 Gravity Cup (DHI) Champion

Elite Women Downhill DHI

  • Caroline BUCHANAN (Kambah, ACT) 2013 BMX World Champion, 2009 and 2010 UCI 4X World Champion
  • Tracey HANNAH (Yorkeys Knob, QLD) 2013 DHI National Champion

Four Cross 4X

  • Blake NEILSON (Springwood, NSW)
  • Mitchell SCARR (Raby, NSW)
  • Terence SCARR (Raby, NSW)
  • Joey VEJVODA (Bredbo, NSW)
  • Danielle BEECROFT (Londonderry, NSW)
  • Caroline BUCHANAN (Kambah, ACT) 2013 BMX World Champion, 2009 and 2010 UCI 4X World Champion

Observed Trials OT

  • Nathan MUMMERY (Point Cook, VIC) Elite Men 20″
  • Lachan SENS (Mandurang, VIC) Elite Men 20″&’26’
  • Janine JUNGFELS (Calamvale, QLD) Elite Women

*Note both Rowena Fry (TAS) and Peta Mullens (VIC) were selected in the XCO team, but have subsequently withdrawn due to illness and injury, and will not travel to South Africa for the Championships.

Mountain Bike Australia Executive Officer Tony Scott is pleased with the selections and is looking forward to the Championships which begin in less than three weeks.

“The Elite and Under 23 athletes named here represent the best that Australia has to offer the World in mountain biking,” exclaimed Scott.

“Combined with our junior teams, Australia is truly blessed with talented, experienced and committed athletes who will all do the Australian mountain bike community proud.”