09 Jun 2016

A mix of youth and experience will represent Australia at the UCI MTB XCO World Championships at Nove Mesto na Morave, Czech Republic later this month.

Nine riders have been endorsed by Mountain Bike Australia (MTBA) to contest the elite men and women cross country as well as the Under 23 men and women.

Together with the Australian Juniors announced in April, this brings the total Australian team for the 2016 World Championships to 15. 

World number nine and current national elite men’s champion Daniel McConnell (ACT) along with world number 18 and national women’s champion Rebecca Henderson (ACT) will spearhead the Australian contingent. _LOW3002_LOW2907

McConnell will be competing at his seventh world championship in the elite men’s category, with a 27th back in 2012 his best result. 

While for Henderson, it will be her third time racing against the best elite women in the world at the championships, placing 15th two years ago.

Peta Mullens (VIC), a former national champion and current Australian marathon cross-country titleholder, makes her return to the world championship stage for a second time, the last back in 2014. _LOW2853

Australia’s second and third ranked elite males Cameron Ivory (NSW) and Brendan Johnston (ACT) will also don the green and gold kit in their second time competing at the elite level at a world championship. _LOW3326FLOW4587

Scott Bowden (TAS) has contested the world champs two times before in the under 23 category both times finishing within the top 40. _LOW2376

While Reece Tucknott (WA) makes his second appearance on the big stage in the U23 along with Holly Harris (NSW) racing in the under 23 women. _LOW2519_LOW2810

“It is a great honour for these riders to wear the green and gold and I congratulate them on their selection,” said Mountain Bike Australia president Russell Baker. 

“The XCO world championships are brought forward in an Olympic year, bringing the event closer to our regular season and this team represents a good mix of youth and experience and I wish them all well for the world championships in Nove Mesto na Morave.” 

The world championships commence 28th June, 2016. 

Full representative list:

Elite Men

Daniel McConnell

Cameron Ivory

Brendan Johnston


Elite Women

Rebecca Henderson

Peta Mullens


U23 Men

Scott Bowden

Tasman Nankervis

Reece Tucknott


U23 Women

Holly Harris

Junior Men

Micheal Harris

Kian McKinnon

Luke Pankhurst

Nick Pedler

Jack Feltham

Junior Women

Sarah I’ons