19 Apr 2014

Cycling Australia (CA) and Mountain Bike Australia (MTBA) are excited to announce the Australian contingent for the second round of the 2014 UCI World Cup Series to be held in Cairns from April 25-27.

In the Olympic Cross Country event, our 2012 London Olympians Dan McConnell (ACT) and Rebecca Henderson (ACT) both had landmark years on the international scene in 2013 and will lead the way in Cairns.

Looking to the Downhill, the brother and sister combination of Mick Hannah (QLD) and Tracey Hannah (QLD) are Cairns locals and will be hoping to beat the world in their own backyard. Young gun Troy Brosnan (SA) is also one to watch after joining Hannah on the World Cup podium in the opening round of the UCI Mountain Bike World Cup season in South Africa.

In the Cross Country Eliminator, reigning world champion Paul Van De Ploeg (VIC) will return to racing after injury and be the hot favourite for the men, and Emily Parkes (ACT) will hope to continue her National Championship medal-winning form in the women’s event.

President of Mountain Bike Australia, Russ Baker AM, spoke of the significance of the event for the sport in Australia.

“The first MTB World Cup on Australian soil in six years sees a welcome and exciting return of this level of competition,” Baker said. “While riders strive to be world champions, the standard of competition at World Cups can actually be higher and the races harder because more top level riders can enter.

“For our Elite riders, Cairns is one race in a series to which they devote their entire year – some would say their lives.  It is an incredible level of commitment from our riders, and from all the teams and sponsors who support them.”

While the official entry window remains open until just days before racing, the list below provides an accurate representation of the group expected to be on the start lines in Cairns.

Riders racing come from three categories.
1) Riders are members of UCI professional teams who are regulars on the World Cup circuit.
2) Qualified to race by meeting a points-standard through successful racing at a National and International level.
3) Riders have been nominated by the National Federation. Such an opportunity exists for all World Cup races but is provided at a greater level for a host country of a World Cup round.

These nominations can give younger riders a chance to experience racing at the highest level for the first time, and give experienced elite riders who have perhaps been away from the sport a chance to race at the highest level. National Federation riders will easily identifiable in their Australian Team kit.

The Series features events in nine countries, across four continents with riders contesting rounds in the Olympic Cross Country (XCO), Downhill (DHI) and Cross Country Eliminator (DHI) events across the elite, under 23 and junior categories. The opening round was held in Pietermaritzburg (South Africa) from April 10-13.

Dubbed the “Rumble in the Rainforest”, the three-day Cairns event begins on April 25 and over 300 riders are expected to converge on tropical North Queensland along with tens of thousands of fans.

Australian Riders Entered in UCI World Cup Round 2 in Cairns as at 17th April 2014

Cross Country Olympic (XCO)

Elite Men – XCO

  • Andrew Blair (NSW)
  • Travis Frisby (SA)
  • Brendan Johnston (ACT)
  • Shaun Lewis (SA)
  • Dan McConnell (ACT) – Trek Factory Racing Team
  • Mark Tupalski (ACT)
  • Paul Van Der Ploeg (VIC)

Elite Women – XCO

  • Rebecca Henderson (ACT) – Trek Factory Racing Team
  • Karen Hill (VIC)
  • Jenni King (NSW)
  • Sarah Riley (VIC)
  • Tory Thomas (VIC)
  • Jodie Willett (QLD)

U23 Men – XCO

  • Christopher Aitken (NSW)
  • Scott Bowden (TAS)
  • Michael Crosbie (VIC)
  • Ben Forbes (QLD)
  • Chris Hamilton (VIC)
  • Cameron Ivory (NSW)
  • Sebastian Jayne (VIC)
  • Ethan Kelly (QLD)
  • Alexander Meyland (VIC)
  • Russell Nankervis (VIC)
  • Tasman Nankervis (VIC)
  • Blake Polverino (NSW)
  • Kyle Ward (NSW)
  • Tristan Ward (NSW)

U23 Women – XCO

  • Holly Harris (NSW)
  • Emily Parkes (ACT)

Downhill (DHI)

Elite Men – DHI

  • Bryn Atkinson (NSW)
  • Rhys Atkinson (NSW)
  • Chris Barlin (NSW) – Green to Gold Race Development Team
  • Jesse Beare (QLD)
  • Berend Boer (QLD)
  • Troy Brosnan (SA) – Specialized Racing DH Team
  • Joshua Button (NSW)
  • Thomas Crimmins (NSW)
  • Luke Ellison (ACT)
  • Connor Fearon (SA) – Kona Factory Team
  • Michael Hannah (QLD) – Hutchison UR Team
  • Samuel Hill (WA) – Chain Reaction / Nukeproof Team
  • Lindsay Klein (QLD)
  • Peter Knott (QLD)
  • Chris Kovarik (QLD)
  • Dean Lucas (VIC) – Devinci Global Racing Team
  • Sean McCarroll (QLD)
  • David McMillan (ACT)
  • Todd Madsen (WA)
  • Jack Moir (NSW) – Bergamont Hayes World Team
  • Brendan Moon (NSW)
  • Graeme Mudd (NSW)
  • Ben Power (QLD)
  • Will Rischbieth (SA)
  • Brent Smith (NSW)

Elite Women – DHI

  • Victoria Armstrong (ACT)
  • Danielle Beecroft (NSW) – Green to Gold Race Development Team
  • Sarah Booth (NSW)
  • Michelle Crisp (NSW)
  • Shelly Flood (SA)
  • Tracey Hannah (QLD) – Hutchison UR Team
  • Ellie Wale (VIC)
  • Kellie Weinert (NSW)

Junior Men – DHI

  • Dru Berryman (VIC)
  • Dan Booker (TAS)
  • Jackson Davis (VIC)
  • Benjamin Dengate (ACT)
  • Ben Hill (TAS)
  • Cody Love (QLD)
  • Matthew McCorkell (ACT)
  • Alec Reid (NSW)
  • Matt Taylor (SA)
  • Aiden Varley (VIC)
  • Max Warshawsky (QLD)
  • Joel Willis (NSW)

Junior Women – DHI

  • Tegan Molloy (NSW)

Cross Country Eliminator (XCE)

Men – XCE

  • Michael Crosbie (VIC)
  • Shaun Lewis (SA)
  • Paul Van Der Ploeg (VIC) (Reigning World Champion)
  • Kyle Ward (NSW)
  • Tristan Ward (NSW)

Women – XCE

  • Holly Harris (NSW)
  • Emily Parkes (ACT)


Follow 2014 Cairns World Cup online

2014 Cairns World Cup Event Info

The Queensland Government through Tourism and Events Queensland is proud to support the 2014 UCI Mountain Bike World Cup as part of a growing calendar of sporting, cultural, business and regional events across the state.