FOX Rollercoaster #Enduro Series Raises Heart rates at Killingworth, NSW

Rocky Trail Entertainment launched the fourth season of their Rollercoaster gravity enduro series on the weekend with its new naming rights sponsor FOX Shox Australia and major sponsor BH Bikes. 

In a first for the popular racing series, the Elite Men’s category ended up in a tie between no less than three riders and the Elite Women finished within 10 seconds of eachother. The popular race combined neutral uphills to get to the start points of three different race tracks and with more than 150 starters attracted record female and junior fields from all over NSW and the ACT.

Exploring Fox Rollercoaster style.
The spirit of the Fox Rollercoaster #Enduro Series – exploring exciting trails together and then racing them, all in a no-attitude, fun and positive atmosphere with Rocky Trail.

The laid back event atmosphere was deceiving as riders pushed themselves to the limit in hot temperatures in the high thirties at Killingworth on Sunday. The once popular downhill and cross-country racing venue had been revived by the local Hunter MTB Alliance club and they were the hosts for the popular Rocky Trail gravity enduro series on the trails just outside of Newcastle. It was very close racing in the Elite Women’s field – Vanessa Thompson from Yanderra showed her strong endurance skills, finishing four seconds ahead of experienced gravity racer Joanne Fox (Emu Heights) and gravity enduro women’s ambassador, Kath Bicknell from Sydney (+10 sec). With a gap of six seconds to all-rounder Thompson, a Fox Rollercoaster newcomer in the Expert Female classification, Becc Wyatt from Rozelle, was the overall women’s winner.

Elite Womens
Elite Women’s podium (l-r): Joanne Fox, Vanessa Thompson, Kath Bicknell.

The hotly contested Elite Men’s classification resulted in a tie between three riders – Jon Odams, Michael Vanos and David Bowden clocked in the same total race time and are now on equal series points – the NSW MTB association has again awarded the official NSW/ACT State Series title for 2015. Chris Martin from Canberra and Michael Kafka from Sydney completed the podium in fourth and fifth place, respectively. 

Elite Men's podium with a first ever tie of three riders (l-r): Chris Martin, ex aequo first Michael Vanos, Dave Bowden, Jon Odams, Michal Kafka.
Elite Men’s podium with a first ever tie of three riders (l-r): Chris Martin, ex aequo first Michael Vanos, Dave Bowden, Jon Odams, Michal Kafka.

Round 2 of the Fox Rollercoaster #Enduro Series // powered by BH Bikes will be held on 1 March 2015 at Del Rio Resort in Wisemans Ferry. For further event information, visit 

It appears you're using an old version of Internet Explorer which is no longer supported, for safer and optimum browsing experience please upgrade your browser.