01 Mar 2015

Molloy & Mudd Crowned Series Winners at the the Subaru National Mountain Bike Series in Toowoomba Queensland

The Series, hosted by Mountain Bike Australia (MTBA), started in December 2014 and spanned five states, finishing up today with a classic Downhill race that saw Toowoomba local legend and 2014 Enduro World Champion Jared Graves (QLD) battle America’s Richie Rude Jr for gold.

Graves was ranked first after yesterday’s seeding run – a run which saw him as the first rider to post a time below 2m40s on the tough ‘McKenzie Frenzy’ trail all week – and today, Graves didn’t disappoint.

Racing as the last rider down the hill, Graves not only beat out his own seeding time, but he also sped into first place, taking the win from second placed Richie Rude Jr, who just a few days ago usurped him at the Oceania Championships.

“I was a bit gutted the other day,” said Graves. “To get one back today feels good”.

Jared Graves

While 2014 World Championships Bronze medallist Troy Brosnan (SA) was undefeated in the first two rounds of the series, his rare absence due to a team training camp in America meant the series winner crown was up for grabs in Queensland.

Graeme Mudd (NSW) today added a bronze medal to a series of top three results, securing himself the Subaru National Series crown in the process.

Graeme Mudd
Richie Rude.
Jared Graves.


In Under 19 action, Max Warshawsky (QLD) had a great run, finishing 2.11 seconds in front of Jackson Frew (ACT) and Andrew Crimmins (NSW). Crimmins earned the overall Junior Series title.

In the Elite Women’s race, it was all about 2015 Junior World Champion Tegan Molloy (NSW) who finished her run in 3m11s, 8.63 seconds in front of second placed rider Sarah Booth (NSW).

Molloy has taken gold in two out of three downhill races this Series, adding the National Series overall winner title to her Oceania Champion medal, in what was a highly successful Toowoomba trip.

On her first series win in the Elite category, Molloy said:

“It’s pretty cool stepping up from juniors and then taking the Elite series – I had solid races this year”.

Tegan Molloy.
Tegan Molloy.


Ellie Wale took out the U19 Women’s race today and was also crowned the Junior Series Winner.

Special mention goes to Coleen Boyes (NSW) who rode to gold in the Women’s Masters 5/6 Category, posting a time that would have seen her take sixth among the Elite females.

Short Course Cross Country

In this morning’s short course, it was Rebecca Henderson (ACT) who took the win in the Elite Women’s race, securing herself the overall Series winner crown for the year, with Em Parkes (VIC) and Holly Harris (NSW) rounding out the podium.


In the Elite Men’s category, racing was fast and furious with bunches at the front forming, breaking and re-forming throughout the race.


Initially it was Paul van der Ploeg (VIC) that led the men as they sped around the course, but it wasn’t long before the Toowoomba crowd was treated to another battle between Dan McConnell (ACT) and Anton Cooper (NZ).

Unfortunately today Cooper dropped his chain on the final lap, allowing McConnell to ride comfortably to his third gold medal this week

The win also gave the overall series title to McConnell, the third-ranked Cross Country rider in the world.

This afternoon also saw the National Series prize pack drawn, with all riders who entered the 2014-15 Subaru National Series provided with an entry in the draw for each race entered.

The prize, which includes airfares, accommodation, car hire and tickets for two to the 2015 MTB World Championships in Andorra, was awarded by a lucky draw to 2013-14 National Series winner Cameron Ivory (NSW).

Racing continues in just 12 days with the Subaru Australian Mountain Bike Championships in Bright, Victoria, where riders will go head to head in a fight for the National Champion title.

The 2015 Championships will offer a feast of mountain biking disciplines for riders, with Cross Country, Downhill, Observed Trials and Cross-Country Eliminator all running, and competition will be fierce across both elites and age-groupers alike.

The festival that is the championships will feature the innaugural MTBA Achievement Awards dinner, as well workshops and courses, many of which are free to attend.

All information about the National Championships can be found online at: http://mtb.subaru.com.au/national-championships/

All information about the National Series can be found online at: http://mtb.subaru.com.au/national-series/

Full results for this weekend can be found online at: http://www.onlineresults.com.au