01 Oct 2013

The RedAss NSW/ACT Downhill State Championships were held in Lithgow on the weekend and more than 160 riders competed on the “Pony Express” track, home of the Central Tablelands MTB Club.

Lithgow’s Under 19’s title defender Joel Willis won again and Andrew Crimmins from Bredbo and Tegan Molloy are the new 2013 Elite State Champions. Last year’s elite winners Graeme Mudd and Sarah Booth from Newcastle both come in second place.

Tegan Molloy, the new elite women's state champion.
Tegan Molloy, the new elite women’s state champion.

After windy practice conditions on Saturday, a warm and calm race day awaited the competitors of the 2013 RedAss Downhill State Championships on the weekend in Lithgow. Organisers Rocky Trail Entertainment had summoned downhill racers from all over NSW and the ACT with interstate visitors from QLD also attending the event. It was two riders from the Snowy Mountains region, Andrew Crimmins from Bredbo and Tegan Molloy from Jindabyne who clocked in the fastest elite race times of the day.

Crimmins has eyes on World’s stage
The only 16-year old Andrew Crimmins has been building up his racing skills and counts the Elite Downhill State Championship title and his current State Series lead as his biggest recent achievements. “My big goal for next year is to race some of the UCI events”, Crimmins said. Racing the entire RedAss NSW/ACT Downhill State Series, he added, had provided him with ideal conditions and a great variety of race tracks to be selected for the Australian National Junior Team to compete overseas in 2014. “It was very dusty today and some of the track sections got a bit blown out – that caught out many riders and it was a challenge to deal with the changing track conditions. No I’m looking forward to the series finale at Awaba MTB Park in November, which will be another tough track for us”, said Crimmins, who is expected to secure the overall Downhill State Series win later in the year. Crimmins won in Lithgow ahead of last year’s State Champion Graeme Mudd from Newcastle and Ben Cory from Canberra.

Andrew Crimmins racing to victory at Lithgow's Pony Express.
Andrew Crimmins racing to victory at Lithgow’s Pony Express.

Fellow Thredbo rider Tegan Molloy took out the Elite women’s title ahead of Sarah Booth from Newcastle and Michelle Crisp from Sydney. The 17-year old is adding this win to her commendable achievements this year, including a Junior Women’s third place at the UCI World Championships in South Africa and a podium placing at the UCI Downhill World Cup at Fort William. “First I’m finishing up school now and then I want to keep training and racing in Australia and overseas”, said the talented rider about her future plans. Molloy added that she will be ready to defend her Lithgow title at next year’s Downhill State Championships, which will be held on her home track in Thredbo in April.

Willis holds onto Under 19’s title
Joel Wills was able to secure this year’s Under 19’s State Championship title, defending his victory from 2012. Lithgow’s mayor Maree Statham was one of the first to congratulate him on this fantastic achievement, “We are very proud of Joel Willis, our local State Champion in Lithgow! We welcome these downhill events in our town and are looking forward to Rocky Trail returning with the Downhill State Series in 2014!”

Joel Willis wins the U19 title in front of hundreds of spectators on his local track.
Joel Willis wins the U19 title in front of hundreds of spectators on his local track.

With a lead of more than 140 points to his runner up, Joel Willis is expected to win the RedAss NSW/ACT Downhill State Championship title at Awaba MTB Park near Newcastle on 17 November 2013. For detailed results and event information, visit www.rockytrailentertainment.com

Top results RedAss Downhill State Championships:

Elite Male:
1. Andrew Crimmins, Bredbo NSW / GIANT Bicycles Australia, Thredbo MTB / 1:46.42
2. Graeme Mudd, Woodberry NSW / LUSTY INDUSTRIES – ORANGE – TLD – ODI / 1:48.51
3. Ben Cory, Kambah ACT / Giant bicycles, Onya Bike Canberra, Vans footwear, Maxima oils, MRP, ODI / 1:51.06
4. Mathew Dodd, Taringa QLD / BM Racing, NS Dynamics, Elka Suspension, Santa Cruz Bikes, Mavic Components, Maxxis /1:52.50
5. Cody Eichhorn, Douglas Park NSW / Banshee. ABC Bikes / 1:52.51

Elite Men's podium honoured by Lithgow's Mayor Hon. Maree Staham (l-r): Matthew Dodd (4), Graeme Mudd (2), Andrew Crimmins (1), Ben Cory (3), Cody Eichhorn (5), Mayor Statham and MC Paul King.
Elite Men’s podium honoured by Lithgow’s Mayor Hon. Maree Staham (l-r): Matthew Dodd (4), Graeme Mudd (2), Andrew Crimmins (1), Ben Cory (3), Cody Eichhorn (5), Mayor Statham and MC Paul King.

Elite Female:
1. Tegan Molloy, Jindabyne NSW / Kona Factory Team, Sram, Mavvic, Thredbo MTB / 2:11.91
2. Sarah Booth, Tanilba Bay NSW / Kona Racing-RAAF, ADCC / 2:13.39
3. Michelle Crisp, Caringbah NSW / Norco Bicycles Australia / 2:21.68
4. Kellie Weinert, Kearns NSW / Tight’n’Toned Fitness / 2:23.90

U19 Male:
1. Joel Willis, Lithgow NSW / Fox Racing,Shimano, Lusty Industries, Bikeminded / 1:52.29
2. Matt Hardwick, Miranda NSW / Devinci / 1:54.73
3. Ben Dengate, Palmerston NSW / Built Bikes / 1:56.00
4. Ryan O’Linn, Wahroonga NSW / Bilt Bikes, Galvanize Clothing, TWE Wheels, Kali Protectives / 1:59.05
5. Connor Mackne, Helensburgh NSW / Alltrack Bicycles / 1:59.65

State Champions from further categories:
U17: Alec Reid, Gwynneville NSW / 2:00.13
Junior U15: Harry Parsons, Mittagong NSW / Red Hub / 2:00.76
Junior Female: Rachel Weinert, Kearns NSW / Tight’n’Toned Fitness / 2:34.22
Expert Male: Teejay Clark, Mt David NSW / 2:05.23
Sport Male: Tim Forsythe, Forestville NSW / 2:16.82
Veteran Male 30+: Daniel Seidel, Kiama Downs NSW / 2:00.77
Master Male 40+: Darren Willis, Lithgow NSW / Fox Racing,Shimano, Lusty Industries, Bikeminded / 2:03.23
Master Female: Joanne Fox, Emu Heights NSW / Cell Bikes / 2:25.42
SuperMaster Male 50+: Steven Bullard, Hackett ACT / Bilt Bikes / 2:21.98