Tegan Molloy Wins Battle with Danielle Beecroft for the Overall Series Crown

The final round of the Elite Women Downhill saw the retirement of a veteran and the consolidation of the next wave as Tegan Molloy (NSW) wrapped up the race and the 2015-16 Subaru National MTB Series title at Jubilee Park, Toowoomba on Sunday.


Molloy was locked in a battle with Danielle Beecroft (NSW) for the overall crown, which would be decided in the series finale on the testing Darling Downs descent, which was blown out after two torrid days.

Danielle Beecroft.
Danielle Beecroft.

After recording the fastest time in seeding, the 8th ranked rider in the world would again find herself with the number one next to her name after a near faultless run in the final with a time of 3min19:30seconds, beating Lisa Mathieson and Beecroft in third.


“It was relatively clean, so I tried to push but not too hard so I didn’t make mistakes and am overall pretty happy.”


It was the second straight series win for the Jindabyne based downhiller as she builds momentum towards the 2016 Australian MTB Championships in a fortnight, where she’s hoping to give current Aussie champ Tracey Hannah a scare.


“Definitely slowly getting the fitness up ahead of National Champs and World Cup so I can’t wait.”


For Beecroft who was back riding in the series after missing most of 2015 with injury, hoped her poor seeding run would be replaced in Sunday’s final.


But, the 15 point buffer she held looked shakey after Beecroft could only manage a run of 3min22:47seconds.


“Really devastated but I’m proud of myself, first season back and where I ended I’m happy with so can’t complain.”


In a surprise podium place former 2004 cross-country Olympian Mathieson who held the hot-seat until Molloy rocketed down the 2.2km course and took the gold.


The event also marked the retirement of Sarah Booth from the National scene after 22 years riding in downhill.


Booth would finish fourth.

Sarah Booth.
Sarah Booth.

Riders now head to Bright, Victoria for the 2016 Subaru Australian MTB Championships from 17-20th March.


For full results: http://onlineresults.com.au/Home

It appears you're using an old version of Internet Explorer which is no longer supported, for safer and optimum browsing experience please upgrade your browser.