Cairns World Champs: 2017 Australian Team Announced

Mountain Bike Australia (MTBA) are pleased to confirm the following riders selected to contest the 2017 UCI MTB World Championships in Cairns, Queensland 5th-10th September 2017. A team of 64 Australian cross-country and downhill riders will compete against the worlds best at the season ending event, held in Australia for the third time.

Join in the fun; come and cheer on the Aussies!

Leading the cross-country athletes will be national elite champion’s Daniel McConnell (ACT) and Rebecca Henderson (ACT).

Elite XC National Champ, Dan McConnell
Bec Henderson lead for the first lap at the 2016 Cairns World Cup

While spearheading the downhillers is Troy Brosnan (SA) and Tracey Hannah (QLD), who have won World Cups this season in Andorra and Fort William respectively.

SA’s Troy Brosnan is a hot favourite to take the win in Cairns.
Cairns local Tracey Hannah is having a great World Cup season, and is focused on the top step at Worlds.

This year welcomes the return of downhill legend Sam Hill (WA), a five-time world champion.

Currently dominating the Enduro World Series, WA’s Sam Hill will make a comeback to DH this September.

MTBA CEO Shane Coppin expects the Aussies to make their mark over the five-day competition, “Australia can be very proud of the team that has been selected and we know they will certainly be giving it a red hot crack in front of a very vocal home crowd.”

Troy Brosnan (SA)
Jack Moir (NSW)
Connor Fearon (SA)
Michael Hannah (QLD)
Dean Lucas (VIC)
Sam Hill (WA)
Joshua Button (NSW)
Jake Newell (NSW)
Reserves: Jackson Frew; Graeme Mudd

Tracey Hannah (QLD)
Ronja Hill-Wright (ACT)
Danielle Beecroft (NSW)
Tegan Molloy (NSW)
Kellie Weinert (NSW)
Sian A’Hern (NSW)
Katie Lawlor (QLD)
Shelly Flood (SA)

Josh Button had a long stint in the hot seat in the 2016 Cairns World Cup and finished on the podium in 5th.
Shark Attack Jack (Moir) is currently 5th in the World Cup overall and placed 2nd in Fort William. Another Aussie to watch in Cairns!
South Australia’s Connor Fearon had a strong start to the 2017 World Cup season.
Dean Lucas had his best World Cup result ever in Mont Sainte Anne, 2nd to Aaron Gwin.
Mick Hannah will be motivated for another strong performance in his home town.
Danni Beecroft

Daniel McConnell (ACT)
Cameron Ivory (NSW)
Kyle Ward (NSW)
Mark Tupalski (ACT)
Adrian Jackson (VIC)
Russell Nankervis (VIC)
Sebastian Jayne (VIC)

Tasman Nankervis (VIC)
Reece Tucknott (WA)
Ben Bradley (TAS)
Alex Lack (TAS)
Callum Carson (NSW)
Nick Pedler (QLD)
Michael Potter (NSW)
Luke Brame (NSW)
Reserve: Michael Denton

Dan McConnell is confident descending in Cairns, especially with a dropper seat post!
Cam Ivory had a rear flat in Cairns World Cup last year but still got a great result. Can be better 37th at the World Champs?
Michael Potter (front) and Callum Carson (rear) from NSW will be lining up in the U23 XCO
Callum Carson sails off the Rodeo Drop at the 2016 Cairns World Cup
Luke Brame adding his style to the U23 XCO
Victoria’s Tas Nankervis is familiar with the Cairns rocks
WA’s Reece Tucknott

Rebecca Henderson (ACT)
Peta Mullens (VIC)
Kathryn McInerney (VIC)
Eliza Kwan (ACT)
Sarah Riley (VIC)
Anna Beck (QLD)
Tory Thomas (VIC)

Holly Harris (NSW)
Megan Williams (QLD)
Charlotte Culver (NSW)

Recently crowned Australian Cyclocross National Champion, Peta Mullens, is always popular with the Aussie crowd
Holly Harris was the sole U23 Woman at the 2016 Cairns World Cup. This year she’ll be accompanied by Charlotte Culver, also from NSW, and Queensland’s Megan Williams
Bec Henderson has stood on the podium in Cairns. Let’s cheer her on again!

A number of riders will contest the final round of the World Cup season at Val di Sole, Italy 26-27 August, before returning to Australia for the world championships.

Team Aussie


If you missed it, we announced the Junior Downhill Worlds Team here.

It appears you're using an old version of Internet Explorer which is no longer supported, for safer and optimum browsing experience please upgrade your browser.